You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
August 5, 2013


The 1975

In our latest episode, Britain's rising indie pop outfit The 1975 drop by to break off "Sex" and "Chocolate", two stand-out tracks from their self-titled debut record (and previous EP releases).

Produced, engineered, and mixed by David Plakon
Directed and edited by Brent Walker

The 1975 are an English pop rock band formed in 2002 in Wilmslow, Cheshire. Now based in Manchester, the band consists of lead vocalist, producer, lyricist and rhythm guitarist Matthew Healy, lead guitarist Adam Hann, bassist Ross MacDonald, and drummer/producer George Daniel.

The band's origins trace to their attendance at high school and playing together as teenagers. Gigs organised by a council worker led the band to formally sign with Dirty Hit and Polydor Records. The band opened for several major acts and released a series of extended plays (Facedown, Sex, Music for Cars, IV) throughout 2012 before releasing their self-titled debut album (2013), which included the popular singles "Sex", "Chocolate", and "Robbers" and reached number one in the United Kingdom.

Their second album, I Like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful yet So Unaware of It (2016), reached No. 1 in the US, UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. Following the touring cycle for the record, the band announced their third album under the working title of Music for Cars, before going on hiatus again throughout 2017.

Returning in 2018, the band announced that the album had evolved into their third campaign cycle, consisting of their third and fourth studio albums. The first, A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships (2018), was released to widespread critical acclaim, and became their third No. 1 album in the UK. The second, Notes on a Conditional Form, was released in May 2020 and became their fourth consecutive No. 1 album in the UK.

The 1975 has garnered acclaim for their exploration of an eclectic range of genres such as pop rock, synth-pop, R&B, funk rock, electropop, new wave forms of electronic music (such as UK garage, 2-step and ambient), and forms of rock music (such as shoegaze, post-punk and post-rock), as well as elements of jazz, soul and gospel. Frontman Matty Healy's energetic and eccentric stage presence has also garnered acclaim, as has his lyricism due to its deeply personal, self-aware, self-deprecating, and often observational nature; his lyrical analyses of politics, society and culture have been praised, notable in songs such as "Love It If We Made It", "Loving Someone", "Sincerity Is Scary", and "People".

Read more..