You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
April 15, 2015

The Brae

Yumi Zouma

Yumi Zouma performing "Dodi" at South By South West in Austin, Texas at 5th Street Studios.

Off The Avenue SXSW 2015 Credits:
David Plakon

Brent Walker

Recording Engineers:
Nick Joswick
Evan Kleinecke

Mixing Engineers:
David Plakon
Lee Rosario Jr.

Camera Operators:
Brent Walker
Joe Flanagan
Megan Shea

Video Editors:
Brent Walker
Joe Flanagan
Megan Shea
Clarence Mayhew
Brinson Swann

Jamie Swartsel

Production Assistant:
Ian Maikisch

Consequence Of Sound

target="_blank" rel="nofollow">

Tito's Vodka

Yumi Zouma are an alternative pop band from New Zealand. The band consists of Christie Simpson (vocals, keyboards), Josh Burgess (guitar, bass guitar, vocals, keyboards), Charlie Ryder (guitar, bass guitar, keyboards), and Olivia Campion (drums). The band's name is an amalgamation of the two friends that encouraged the group to start writing together.

The group's origins trace back to their history of playing concerts together in Christchurch, New Zealand. However, the band did not begin writing music together until multiple members moved abroad and began collaborating over email following the events of the Christchurch earthquake. This early material gained attention within the musical blogosphere and encouraged American label Cascine to sign the band before they had played live or held a band practice.

Between 2014 and 2015, the group released two extended plays (EP I, EP II) and opened for various international acts. The band's debut album Yoncalla was released in 2016, including the singles "Keep It Close To Me" and "Barricade (Matter Of Fact)".

Following another extensive period of touring, the band returned in 2017 to announce the release of their second album, Willowbank, and the singles "December", "Depths (Pt. I)", and "Half Hour". A trilogy of EPs was completed with the release of EP III in 2018. The band released a stand-alone single "Bruise" in 2019.

Read more..